Our Local Governing Body is composed of Parent Governors (parents of students within the school) and Co-opted Governors (members of the local community or people with skills and experience in particular areas). Over an academic year, our Local Governing Body meets half-termly to oversee, scrutinise and challenge on all aspects relating to the function of our school.

Lead Governance

Our schools also have Lead Governors responsible for overseeing specific areas of the school. Our Lead Governors are:

Grant Walker – Safeguarding

Kathryn Thacker – Vulnerable Groups (including Pupil Premium)

Ed Wydenbach – SEND

School Governors

The following table outlines our current Governors:

NameDate of Appointment Term of office from – toGovernor TypeBusiness or Pecuniary Interests Declared 2023-2024
Emma Needham15/06/202315/06/2023 – 14/06/2024


Vice Chair of LGB

Oyindamola Ogunnote21/02/202421/02/2024 – 20/02/2025Co-opted 
Neelam Shujaee05/11/202305/11/2023 – 04/11/2024Parent 
Kathryn Thacker31/08/201931/08/2023 – 30/08/2027Staff GovernorEmployee of Woodthorpe Primary School
Tracey Twelvetrees01/09/201901/09/2023 – 31/8/2027Staff Governor

A family connection to an employee of Minerva Learning Trust’s Central Team.

Employee of Woodthorpe Primary School.

Grant Walker14/10/202014/10/2022 – 13/10/2026


Chair of LGB

Vidigi Media Service video and photography work.

Governor at Handsworth Grange Community Sports College.

Ed Wydenbach01/01/202401/01/2024 – 31/12/2027Trust Governor

Norfolk Community Primary School – Governor.

Endcliffe Vale Lessees Limited – Director.

Birley Spa Primary School – Governor.

Governors who have resigned their term of office and stepped down within the last academic year:

NameDate of Appointment Term of office from – toDate Stepped Down Governor TypeBusiness or Pecuniary Interests Declared 2023-2024
Andrew Rathbone01/09/202101/09/2024 – 31/08/202527/03/2024Parent 
Lisa Eyre15/05/201915/05/2023 – 14/05/202712/12/2023Parent 
Anna Perkins16/06/202116/06/2021 – 15/06/202511/12/2023Staff Governor 
Attendance 2022-2023

Attendance at Governance Body Meetings (2022/2023) – last academic year

Governor NameT1 12/10/2022T2 14/12/2022T3 08/02/2023T4 29/03/2023T5 17/05/2023T6 12/07/2023
Philip KnowlesNYYNNN/A
Emma NeedhamN/AN/AN/AN/AN/AY
Anna PerkinsN/AYNYNY
Andrew RathboneYYYYYY
Kathryn ThackerYYYYYY
Elliot TownsendYN/AN/AN/AN/AN/A
Tracey TwelvetreesYYYYYY
Grant WalkerYYYYYY

The Chair of the school governing body is Mr G Walker and can be contacted by email

Complaints regarding the school are to follow the Trust Complaints procedure Link MLT Statutory Information – Complaints Procedure and should not be made directly to the Chair of Governors.

Further information can be found on our Trust Governance page: Our Governance – Minerva Learning Trust

Require More Information?